Atlanta, February 21, 2019 – As head of Georgia’s judiciary, Chief Justice Harold D. Melton announced he has established an “Ad Hoc Committee to Prevent Sexual Harassment in the Judicial Branch of Government.” The Committee is charged with gathering research, examining and evaluating best practices, and encouraging all classes of Georgia courts and court councils to establish policies to prevent sexual harassment. Such policies should address providing training for judges and employees on sexual harassment and other workplace harassment that is prohibited by law, and they should establish procedures for recognizing harassment and responding to complaints.

Justice Sarah H. Warren of the Supreme Court of Georgia has been appointed Chair of the Committee. Other members include:

* Judge Carla McMillian, Court of Appeals of Georgia
* Judge Horace J. Johnson, Jr., Superior Court, Alcovy Judicial Circuit
* Judge Dax E. Lopez, State Court, DeKalb County
* Judge Maureen E. Wood, Juvenile Court, Rockdale Judicial Circuit
* Judge T.J. Hudson, Probate Court, Treutlen County
* Chief Judge Joyette Holmes, Magistrate Court, Cobb County
* Judge Matthew McCord, Municipal Court, Stockbridge

The Committee is due to present its findings and recommendations to the full Judicial Council, which is chaired by the Chief Justice, no later than Dec. 31, 2019.

The national Conference of Chief Justices recently adopted a resolution “In Support of Commitment to Awareness and Training on Workplace Harassment in the Judicial Branch.” Last month, Georgia Governor Brian Kemp issued an Executive Order “Preventing Sexual Harassment in the Executive Branch of Government.”