On Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2016, Gov. Nathan Deal swore in three new justices to the Supreme Court of Georgia, expanding the court to nine justices. From left to right, they are J. Nels S.D. Peterson, a judge on the Georgia Court of Appeals, J. Michael P. Boggs, also a judge on the Court of Appeals, and to the right of the governor, J. Britt Grant, Georgia Solicitor General. The three new justices bring to four the number of appointments Gov. Deal has made to the state’s highest court.